Fuji Kindergarten: Japan’s most beautiful kindergarten

Photo: Tezuka Architects

Fuji Montessori Kindergarten (Fuji Yochien)  in the Tokyo suburb of Tachikawa, a new Montessori nursery and kindergarten school catering for children from two to six years of age, moved into innovative new architect-designed premises in 2007. The nursery-cum-kindergarten is different from usual nurseries because it receives no public funds and it serves children of both working and nonworking parents.

Despite being the largest Kindergarten in Japan, Fuji Montessori Kindergarten (Fuji Yochien) is the most talked about and most envied kindergarten in Japan. .. this is because Fuji is without doubt the most beautiful and child-friendly childcare space in this land where schools are often drab, standardized and grey concrete blocks.

Winning multiple architectural design awards, Fuji’s school building’s most celebrated and captivating aspect – is its “doughnut ring”-rooftop that encloses an internal courtyard space. The rooftop is really an oval-shaped play deck that is used for free play and exploration, but can be adapted for more formal functions such as assemblies and other communal gatherings.  The rooftop can accommodate 500 children.

Based on the school’s Montessori philosophy, the school is designed such that it gives the impression of  a building with no walls. Classroom spaces, play areas, and support facilities merge into one. The design concept also results in the school building itself serving as a gigantic piece of play equipment.  The brainchild of Tezuka Architects, the circular design was said to be inspired by the idea that ‘Children love to run in circles’.

The ultimate effect of Fuji’s design concept is a learning environment that fosters the individual development and expression of all its pupils. The building’s distinctive form sought to support the kindergarten’s mode of operation, the Montessori education method – to provide a flexible, robust and secure framework within which to encourage key notions of independence and freedom.

The design is clearly child-centred and has many playful touches – outdoor taps that allow children to clean up and wash down (see photo); glazed rooflights that offer peephole views from between roof and classroom; the building integrates three prior existing Zelkova trees as well as a slide from the roof that provides the most direct route down from the roof.  Ceiling heights…created in the scale of a child,  are restricted to 2.1m. This stresses an extremely close relationship between the ground level and the rooftop. Pupils can interact freely between the rooftop and central garden spaces, these are aspects of the design that allow children to explore without inhibition as well as facilitating their access to nature.  These design elements satisfy the key aspect of the Montessori methodology —  satisfaction, contentment and joy are the result when children are able to fully participate in daily activities, individually and collectively, in a place where they can understand, engage with and control their own environment.

Fuji Kindergarten is a triumph in modern architectural design – its innovative design proves that school buildings serve the people who inhabit it, and that they need not be dull or institutional.

References:

Fuji Kindergarten (BNET) Running rings: Tezuka Architects’ Fuji Kindergarten leads the way Tezuka Architects: Montessori school, Tokyo, Japan.

‘Ring around a Tree’ A Beautiful Kindergarten in Fuji from The Fox is Black has great photos of the school (but has the location wrong)

Learning Curve – Britannica article (Architectural Review by Rob Gregory)

Fuji Montessori Kindergarten from Montessori Foundation Online News December 2008.(Montessori Foundation )
Fuji Kindergarten website (Fuji Kids.jp)
Fuji Kindergarten (Imagine inspirational school design website)
Fuji Kindergarten DFA Award.com
See more photographs at:
Posted in 1

15 thoughts on “Fuji Kindergarten: Japan’s most beautiful kindergarten”

  1. This school is wonderful. As a parent of two American Fuji children I can attest to the beauty of the people as well as the building itself. The teachers and administrators work very hard to create a healthy, happy and strong working environment. The classrooms are full of light and are kept very clean. The environment and building is indeed conducive to learning, it sets the tone and structure for the Kindergarten. It is hard to say why it works, but it does so effortlessly.

    1. Hi Yunuen,
      I am an American, moving to Tokyo with my 1.5 year old daughter this summer. I’m wondering if you could help me find information on how to get my daughter enrolled in the school, when the time comes. Is there a long wait list?

  2. Good Afternoon, I am from the Philippines and I salute the beautiful school that you have and I know that you have the best products you ever had. Congratulations! God Bless! From, Fatima R. Jacinto Sept. 9, 2011

  3. Hi, my name is Matthew and I am one of the English teachers at Fuji. It is an amazing school and an absolute pleasure and privilege to work at. I have no doubts this is the best kindergarten in Japan and certainly one of the most accepting of international cultures. It fills me with pride to see it do widely acknowledged.

    1. Hi Mr. Matthew, I fell in love with your school ever since I watched it on Ted Talks. I was still studying college back then. Now that I’m teacher, I started teaching in an early years department. After 2 years of teaching here, I wanted to expand my horizons and I’m wondering if you have any openings in your beautiful school? Thank you so much in advance.

    2. Hi Mr. Matthew,
      I asked the same question above, but I am moving to Tokyo soon with my 1.5 year old daughter. How can I find out more information about enrollment for your school? I would love to get her immersed in the language as soon as we can.
      Thank you,
      Marita

      1. You just have to call the school with your queries about enrolment times, vacancies, to arrange for school visit and enrolment forms, etc. for sure, the school is oversubscribed and has a long waiting list, but you never know.
        Website: fujikids.jp
        Address: 190-0032 東京都立川市上砂町2丁目7-1
        Tel: 042-536-4413

        Thinking outside the usual white box | The Japan Times
        http://www.japantimes.co.jp/community/2014/03/02/issues/thinking-outside-the-usual-white-box/#.WPgaBbyeqrU

        https://novakdjokovicfoundation.org/fuji-kindergarten-a-novel-type-of-kindergarten-in-japan/

    3. Dear Mr. Matthew,
      My name is Menashe Shilon, I’m the Founder and CEO of Quality Time PreSchool Chain in Israel.
      I would really appreciate learning more about your amazing school.
      Please be kind to introduce me to the relevant professional as i wish to come for a visit and learn more.
      Best regards
      Menashe

      1. Please contact the school directly, this is a general educational blog and we are not connected to the school.
        A.Kawagoe, editor of the Education in Japan blog

  4. Certainly spent the most MONEY but beauty is in the eye of the beholder. No doubt beautiful but there ARE some beautiful kinders in Japan. Might one have said “certainly one of the most beautiful kindergartens in Japan”?

  5. Hi, I am from Malaysia. I have to do a program and I choose Fuji Kindergarten as one of the place that me and my group should go. Can you help me to give some information that I need?

  6. hello, I am student from Malaysia, i am interested to visit Fuji Kindergarten and I also want to do some activities with your students. How can I find out more information to contact your school?. I hope you can give me your cooperation regarding this. Thank you.

  7. hi..I am from Malaysia. I am interest to visit your kindergarten and do some activities with your students for my university program on 2019. Can you help me to give some information that I need?

Leave a comment